Archives Menu

Life, Hope & Science: Three Journeys in Research

image of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory logo

Center for Humanities and the History of Modern Biology at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory presents:

LIFE, HOPE AND SCIENCE: THREE JOURNEYS IN RESEARCH
What can we learn from the life stories of eminent women scientists? Learn about the lives of Elizabeth Blackburn, Jennifer Doudna, and Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin.

Monday, October 18, 2021
12:00 PM EST / 9:00 AM PST / 5:00 PM BST (duration 60 minutes)
Free online event

Register/more info

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Three women-Nobelists:

Elizabeth Blackburn
Jennifer Doudna
Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin

Moderator:

Susan Hockfield, President Emerita MIT, author of The Age of Living Machines: How Biology Will Build the Next Technology Revolution. (W. W. Norton & Company, 2019).

Speakers:

Georgina Ferry, biographer, author of Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin: Patterns, Proteins and Peace, a life in science (Bloomsbury 2019)

Jennifer Doudna, subject of The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race by Walter Isaacson (Simon & Schuster 2021)

Elizabeth Blackburn, co-author of The Telomere Effect: A Revolutionary Approach to Living Younger, Healthier, Longer (Grand Central Publishing, 2017)

Organizers of the event:

Nancy Hopkins, Amgen Inc. Professor of Biology Emerita, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mila Pollock, Executive Director, CSHL Library & Archives, The Center for Humanities and the History of Modern Biology
Jan Witkowski, Professor, CSHL School of Biological Sciences

Register to obtain the webinar’s Zoom link:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_X4MsZrZ5RTqAJHTdHWAeng