About Menu

Scientific Advisory Council

The Scientific Advisory Council (SAC) is an external advisory group that advises Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory’s (CSHL) senior management on matters pertaining to science (both current and future), including the development of a research strategy to maintain CSHL as a world leader. The SAC includes a Chair of Council who is an individual known for scientific breadth and a detailed understanding of research management at the senior management level. The other members are world leaders in their respective fields and as such are able to provide advice on the different research areas of the Laboratory.

Frederick W. Alt, Ph.D. (Chair)
HHMI Investigator/Harvard University
Professor & Co-Chief, Division of Molecular Medicine, Children’s Hospital Boston

Joanne Chory, Ph.D.
HHMI Investigator/The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
Professor & Director, Plant Biology Laboratory

Carol W. Greider, Ph.D.
University California Santa Cruz
Professor of Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology

Eve Marder, Ph.D.
Brandeis University
Professor of Neuroscience, Biology Department and Volen Center

Markus Meister, Ph.D.
California Institute of Technology
Professor, Molecular and Cellular Biology

Steven Salzberg, Ph.D.
Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science, and Biostatistics
Director, Center for Computational Biology
Johns Hopkins University

Kevan M. Shokat, Ph.D.
HHMI Investigator/University of California, San Francisco; University of California, Berkeley
Professor & Chair, Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology; Professor of Chemistry

Max S. Wicha, M.D.
University of Michigan
Professor & Director, University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center

Wei Yang, Ph.D.
NIDDK, National Institutes of Health
NIH Distinguished Investigator