Newsstand Menu

Director of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory elected to National Academy of Sciences

Bruce Stillman
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Cold Spring Harbor, NY — On May 2, the National Academy of Sciences elected 60 new members and 15 foreign associates to its ranks in recognition of their distinguished achievements in scientific research. Bruce Stillman, director of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, was among these newly elected members of the Academy.

The National Academy of Sciences was established in 1863 by a congressional act—signed by Abraham Lincoln—that calls on the Academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government in any matter of science or technology. Membership in the Academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a scientist.

This year’s election, at the 137th annual meeting of the Academy in Washington, D.C., brings its number of active members to 1,843 and Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory’s share of this membership to three: In addition to Dr. Stillman, James Watson (elected in 1962), and Michael Wigler (elected in 1989) are members of the National Academy of Sciences currently working at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CSHL).

Dr. Stillman received a Ph.D. from Australian National University in 1979 and then joined CSHL as a postdoctoral fellow supported by the Damon Runyon-Walter Winchell Cancer Research Fund. Within five years, he achieved a rank equivalent to full professor. Today, Dr. Stillman is director of CSHL (a position held from 1968 to 1994 by James Watson) and the William J. Matheson Professor of Cancer Biology.

In addition to serving on numerous scientific advisory boards, Dr. Stillman was elected Fellow of the Royal Society (London) in 1993, and received the Order of Australia in 1999.

Written by: Communications Department | | 516-367-8455

Stay informed

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest discoveries, upcoming events, videos, podcasts, and a news roundup delivered straight to your inbox every month.

  Newsletter Signup

About Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Founded in 1890, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory has shaped contemporary biomedical research and education with programs in cancer, neuroscience, plant biology and quantitative biology. Home to eight Nobel Prize winners, the private, not-for-profit Laboratory employs 1,000 people including 600 scientists, students and technicians. The Meetings & Courses Program annually hosts more than 12,000 scientists. The Laboratory’s education arm also includes an academic publishing house, a graduate school and the DNA Learning Center with programs for middle, high school, and undergraduate students and teachers. For more information, visit