Newsstand Menu

Regeneron’s Dr. George D. Yancopoulos elected to Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Board of Trustees

Dr. George D. Yancopoulos

Cold Spring Harbor, NY — Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CSHL) today announced the election of George D. Yancopoulos, M.D., Ph.D., Chief Scientific Officer of Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and President of Regeneron Laboratories, to its Board of Trustees.

“On behalf of the CSHL Board, I welcome Dr. Yancopoulos to the Laboratory,” said CSHL Chairman Jamie C. Nicholls. “CSHL is applying basic research-driven discoveries in the clinic for the benefit of patients. Dr. Yancopoulos offers the unique perspective of a scientist, clinician and industry leader.”

Dr. Yancopoulos joined Regeneron in 1989 as its Scientific Founder and is currently Chief Scientific Officer and President of Regeneron Laboratories. Together with key members of his team, he is a principal inventor and developer of Regeneron’s four FDA-approved drugs—PRALUENT® (alirocumab) Injection, EYLEA® (aflibercept) Injection, ZALTRAP® (ziv-aflibercept) Injection for Intravenous Infusion, and ARCALYST® (rilonacept) Injection—as well as of Regeneron’s foundational technologies for target and drug development, such as its proprietary TRAP technology, VelociGene® and VelocImmune®. These technologies have produced Regeneron’s products and robust pipeline of fully human antibodies targeting other areas of high unmet medical need, including oncology, rheumatoid arthritis, asthma, atopic dermatitis, pain and infectious disease.

In 2014, Dr. Yancopoulos and his team launched the Regeneron Genetics Center, a major new initiative in human genetics research.

Dr. Yancopoulos received his M.D. and Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics from Columbia University. In the 1990s, Dr. Yancopoulos was the 11th most highly cited scientist in the world, and in 2004 he was elected to both the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Sciences. Dr. Yancopoulos has long-term ties to the CSHL. Together with his Ph.D. mentor, Dr. Frederick W. Alt, who now heads the CSHL Scientific Advisory Board, he taught the CSHL cloning course for many summers in the 1980s.

CSHL is governed by a board of trustees representing the business and scientific communities. Officers include: Chairman Jamie C. Nicholls; Vice-Chairman Marilyn H. Simons, Ph.D.; Vice-Chairman Robert D. Lindsay; Treasurer Leo A. Guthart; Secretary Paul J. Taubman; President Bruce Stillman, Ph.D.; and Chief Operating Officer W. Dillaway Ayres, Jr.

Written by: Dagnia Zeidlickis, Vice President, Communications | | 516-367-8455

Stay informed

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest discoveries, upcoming events, videos, podcasts, and a news roundup delivered straight to your inbox every month.

  Newsletter Signup

About Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Founded in 1890, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory has shaped contemporary biomedical research and education with programs in cancer, neuroscience, plant biology and quantitative biology. Home to eight Nobel Prize winners, the private, not-for-profit Laboratory employs 1,100 people including 600 scientists, students and technicians. The Meetings & Courses Program annually hosts more than 12,000 scientists. The Laboratory’s education arm also includes an academic publishing house, a graduate school and the DNA Learning Center with programs for middle and high school students and teachers. For more information, visit