Newsstand Menu

2002 CSHL Symposium focuses on cardiovascular system

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Cold Spring Harbor Symposium on Quantitative Biology is a premier annual international scientific meeting during which researchers gather for in-depth discussions of carefully selected topics of current interest. The Symposium has been held at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory every year since 1933 (save 1943-1945). The first public description of the structure of DNA was given at the 1951 Cold Spring Harbor Symposium, and over the years, many other ground-breaking discoveries have similarly been announced at the Symposium.

The 67th Symposium on Quantitative Biology (May 29 – June 3, 2002) will focus on The Cardiovascular System. Topics to be explored include:

  • Angiogenesis/Anti-angiogenesis
  • Arrythmogenesis/Channels
  • Atherosclerosis
  • Excitation and Contraction
  • Heart and Vascular Development
  • Hypertension
  • Hypertrophy/Heart Failure
  • Myocyte Biology

Speakers include:

Kari Alitalo, University of Helsinki, Finland
Jeffrey Arbeit, University of California, San Francisco
Antonio Baldini, Baylor College of Medicine
Robert Benezra, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Laura Benjamin, Harvard Medical School
Gabrielle Bergers, University of California, San Francisco
Helen Blau, Stanford University
David Cheresh, The Scripps Research Institute
Kenneth Chien, University of California, San Diego
Thomas Coffman, Duke University Medical Center
Jonathon Cohen, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Shaun Coughlin, University of California, San Francisco
Harold Dvorak, Beth Deaconess Medical Center
Michael Eldar, Sheba Medical Center, Israel
Jonathan Epstein, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Neal Epstein, National Institutes of Health
Napoleon Ferrara, Genentech, Inc.
Glenn Fishman, New York University School of Medicine
Mark Fishman, Massachusetts General Hospital
Manfred Frasch, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Richard Harvey, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute, Australia
Jay Horton, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Richard Hynes, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Seigo Izumo, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Rakesh Jain, Massachusetts General Hospital
Raghu Kalluri, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Daniel Kelly, Washington University School of Medicine
Paul Krieg, University of Arizona
Andrew Lassar, Harvard Medical School
Leslie Leinwand, University of Colorado at Boulder
Richard Lifton, Yale University School of Medicine
Douglas Mann, Baylor College of Medicine
Eduardo Marban, Johns Hopkins University
Andrew Marks, Columbia University
Elizabeth McNally, University of Chicago
Mark Mercola, Harvard Medical School
Timothy Mohun, National Institute of Medical Research, London, UK
Karen Moulton, Children’s Hospital and Brigham Women’s Hospital
Charles Murry, University of Washington
Elizabeth Nabel, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute
Eric Olson, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Renata Pasqualini, University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Howard A. Rockman, Duke University Medical Center
Richard Roman, Medical College of Wisconsin
Michael Geoff Rosenfeld, University of California, San Diego/The Burnham Institute
Nadia Rosenthal, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Rome, Italy
Maria Rupnick, Children’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School
Thomas Sato, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Christine Seidman, Harvard Medical School
Jonathan Seidman, Harvard Medical School
Celeste Simon, University of Pennsylvania Medical School
Philip Shaul, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Deepak Srivastava, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Didier Stainier, University of California, San Francisco
George Yancopoulos, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Joseph Yost, University of Utah
Brant Weinstein, National Institutes of Health
R. Sanders Williams, Duke University Medical Center

Papers presented at each Symposium have been published since the inception of this meeting. These volumes are considered required reading for all scientists who wish to understand a particular topic in detail. Selected CSHL Symposia from the past:

The Brain
The Genetic Code
Protein Chemistry
The Neuron
Tumor Viruses
Cellular Regulatory Mechanisms
Molecular Biology of Signal Transduction

Written by: Communications Department | | 516-367-8455

Stay informed

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest discoveries, upcoming events, videos, podcasts, and a news roundup delivered straight to your inbox every month.

  Newsletter Signup

About Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Founded in 1890, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory has shaped contemporary biomedical research and education with programs in cancer, neuroscience, plant biology and quantitative biology. Home to eight Nobel Prize winners, the private, not-for-profit Laboratory employs 1,000 people including 600 scientists, students and technicians. The Meetings & Courses Program annually hosts more than 12,000 scientists. The Laboratory’s education arm also includes an academic publishing house, a graduate school and the DNA Learning Center with programs for middle, high school, and undergraduate students and teachers. For more information, visit