

# DOUBLE HELIX MEDALS DINNER WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2017

#### Honorees

Mr. Thomas Brokaw Mr. and Mrs. Charles F. Dolan

#### Honorary Chairmen

MR. KAREEM ABDUL-JABBAR
MR. ALAN ALDA
MRS. MUHAMMAD ALI
MS. MARLO THOMAS AND
MR. PHIL DONAHUE
MR. AND MRS. MAURICE R. GREENBERG
MR. DAVID H. KOCH
MRS. GEORGE N. LINDSAY
MRS. DAVID J. MAHONEY
MRS. NANCY ABELES MARKS
MS. ROBIN R. ROBERTS
DRS. MARILYN AND JAMES SIMONS
DR. P. ROY VAGELOS
DR. AND MRS. JAMES D. WATSON
MS. DEBORAH NORVILLE AND
MR. KARL WELLNER

Mr. Karl Wellner Vice Chairmen Mr. and Mrs. W. Dillaway Ayres, Jr. Dr. Joanne Berger-Sweeney Mr. and Mrs. Hans E.R. Bosch Mr. and Mrs. Matthew I. Bruderman Mr. and Mrs. Eric Carlstrom Mr. and Mrs. James J. Celestino Mr. and Mrs. Edward A. Chernoff Mr. and Mrs. Charles "Casey" Cogut Mr. and Mrs. Michel David-Weill Ms. Florence A. Davis Mr. and Mrs. Nelson DeMille Mr. and Mrs. John M. Desmarais Mr. Martin Elias Mr. David Goldring Mr. and Mrs. Ronald A. Gottlieb Mrs. Ioan M. Hutchins Mr. and Mrs. Francis I. Ingrassia Mr. and Mrs. Jeffrey E. Kelter Mr. and Mrs. Peter J. Klein Mr. and Mrs. Gordon E. Lamb Mr. and Mrs. Stephen M. Lessing Dr. Robert W. Lourie Mr. Edward E. Matthews Dr. Marcia Kramer Mayer Drs. Laurie J. Landeau and Robert J. Maze Dr. Gillian and Mr. Eduardo G. Mestre Dr. and Mrs. Howard L. Morgan Mr. and Mrs. Jeffrey A. Nagel Mr. and Mrs. John C. Phelan THE HONORABLE AND Mrs. Leon B. Polsky Mr. Thomas C. Quick Drs. Marjorie J. van de Stouwe and SCOTT J. RATNER Ms. Susan Wasserstein and Mr. George Sard Mr. and Mrs. Thomas A. Saunders III Ms. Alison Holtzschue and Mr. Douglas Schloss Mr. and Mrs. Alan Seligson Mr. and Mrs. Michael Shofe Mr. and Mrs. Harry Slatkin Ms. Kristin Olson and Mr. Dustin Smith Mr. and Mrs. Theodore Smith III Mr. and Mrs. Douglas S. Soref Mr. and Mrs. Erwin P. Staller Mr. and Mrs. James F. Stebbins Dr. and Mrs. James M. Stone Mr. and Mrs. Edward Travaglianti

Dr. and Mrs. Stuart T. Weisbrod Mr. and Mrs. James A. Woods

Dr. George D. Yancopoulos Ms. Tara E. Kelleher and

Mr. Roy J. Zuckerberg

## COLD SPRING HARBOR LABORATORY

### Bruce Stillman, Ph.D., President

August 4, 2017

Dear Friends,

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CSHL) will celebrate its twelfth Double Helix Medals on Wednesday, November 15, to honor Tom Brokaw and Helen and Charles Dolan. They will join the ranks of past Double Helix Medal recipients including Muhammad Ali, Michael J. Fox, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Evelyn Lauder, Katie Couric, and Alan Alda, all of whom have been recognized for positively impacting human health by raising awareness and funds for biomedical research. This year's dinner will be held once again at the American Museum of Natural History.

Through his personal struggle with multiple myeloma and with the power of his respected voice, Tom Brokaw has importantly brought attention to this disease, and it has undoubtedly saved the lives of others. Mr. Brokaw is a well-respected and trusted figure in U.S. broadcast journalism, and is best known as the anchor and managing editor of NBC Nightly News from 1982 to 2004. Helen and Charles Dolan have raised a great deal of awareness and urgently needed funding for pancreatic cancer research through the Lustgarten Foundation. They have also impacted human health through the Dolan Family Foundation by facilitating biomedical research and education.

Founded in 1890, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory is considered the birthplace of molecular biology. Home to eight Nobel Prize winners, scientists are conducting cutting-edge genetics research related to numerous diseases including cancer, autism, schizophrenia, Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease and depression.

Double Helix Medals dinner participation levels are outlined on the enclosed form. Your gift will be leveraged by a generous friend who will match the proceeds of the evening. A timely response to our sponsorship request will allow CSHL to acknowledge your participation on the invitation. Thank you for your support of CSHL's genetic disease research programs.

With sincere gratitude, Dinner Chairmen:

Ms. Jamie Nicholls and Mr. O. Francis Biondi

Jame + Fran

Kate Medina Guthart and Leo Guthart

Late and Leo

Mr. and Mrs. Robert D. Lindsay

Cony & Bet Lindray

Danielle : Paul Taubman

Mr. and Mrs. Paul Taubman