# **Faculty & Friends**



# **6th Watson School Commencement**

Front row (I-r): Dr. Leemor Joshua-Tor, Dean; Allison Blum and Shu-Ling Chiu, Ph.D. recipients; Dr. Jeffrey Miller and Dr. Alfred Goldberg, honorary Doctor of Science degrees. Back row (I-r): Pres. Bruce Stillman; Keisha John, Jeremy Wilusz and Daniel Chitwood, Ph.D. recipients; Dr. Winship Herr, honorary Doctor of Science degree. Not shown: David Micklos, honorary Doctor of Science degree.



# **CSHL** thanks the Montis

A growing partnership between CSHL and the Don Monti Memorial Research Foundation has been significantly strengthened. The Foundation has donated \$500,000 to CSHL's cancer genetics research program. "Our relationship with Caroline Monti Saladino and the Foundation has provided us with access to critical technologies that allow CSHL to remain at the leading edge of cancer research," says Professor Scott Lowe, Ph.D., who directs the Tita Monti Cancer Research Laboratory at CSHL. In the picture (I-r): Edward Travaglianti, CSHL Trustee; President Stillman; Dr. Lowe; Caroline Monti Saladino; Richard Monti; Anna Travaglia; Arthur Saladino.



## **Sass Fellowship in Cancer Research**

Martin D. Sass, chairman and Co-Founder of the Sass Foundation, with CSHL's Shilpi Paul, Ph.D., Sass Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow in Cancer Research. Paul, who will receive \$75,000 in 2009, is studying the tumor-suppressor gene *CHD5*, discovered by her mentor, Assoc. Prof. Alea Mills, Ph.D., in 2007. Paul received her doctorate from Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Bethesda.

## Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Board of Trustees

#### Officers

Eduardo G. Mestre, Chairman Lola N. Grace, Vice-Chairman Robert D. Lindsay, Vice-Chairman Edward Travaglianti, Sectretary/Treasurer Bruce Stillman, Ph.D., President W. Dillaway Ayres, Jr., Chief Operating Officer

## **Individual Trustees**

Donald E. Axinn **Timothy Broadbent\*** Landon T. Clay Kristina Perkin Davison Jacob Goldfield Leo A. Guthart Laurie J. Landeau, V.M.D. Thomas Lehrman Stephen M. Lessing Jamie C. Nicholls Louise M. Parent John C. Phelan William S. Robertson David M. Rubenstein Alan Seligson Marilyn Simons, Ph.D. Andrew Solomon Alan C. Stephenson James M. Stone, Ph.D. Jerome Swartz, Ph.D. Paul J. Taubman Roy J. Zuckerberg

#### Scientific Trustees

Laurence F. Abbott, Ph.D. Columbia Unviersity Michael Botchan, Ph.D.\* University of California, Berkeley David Botstein, Ph.D. Princeton University Titia de Lange, Ph.D. The Rockefeller University Charles L. Sawyers, M.D. Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center Bruce Stillman, Ph.D. Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

## **Honorary Trustees**

Bayard Clarkson, M.D. Norris Darrell Charles F. Dolan Helen Ann Dolan Townsend J. Knight, Esq. David H. Koch Evelyn H. Lauder Mary D. Lindsay David L. Luke III Nancy Abeles Marks\* William R. Miller James D. Watson, Ph.D. Henry Wendt III

\*has assumed present position since January 1, 2009

#### **CSHL** Association

CSHL Association comprises some 1,000 neighbors and friends of the Laboratory who contribute to the Annual Fund, an essential source of unrestricted support for outstanding young scientists. Association members get to know CSHL scientists at lectures, concerts, dinners and other social events that support the Laboratory. Membership levels start at \$100 per year. For more information please contact Diane Fagiola, Director of Development, at 516.367.8471 or fagiola@cshl.edu.

#### Officers

Timothy S. Broadbent, President Pien Bosch, Vice-President Lynn M. Gray, Vice-President Sandy Tytel, Treasurer Suzanne DiMaio, Secretary

#### **Directors**

Joseph V. Amella Joyce Bertoldo Maria L. Brisbane Barbara Candee Michele Munn Celestino Katie Charlston Colgate, Ph.D. Linda Ferrante John S. Friedman Charles B. Goodwin, M.D. Nancy Lippman Israeli, M.D. Virginia Knott Maureen G. Leness Frank O'Keefe Lauryl Palatnick David Peikon Scott J. Ratner, M.D. Raymond G. Schuville Debra Parmet Sondock Cathy Cyphers Soref Pearl F. Staller W. Fifield Whitman James A. Woods

#### **Honorary Directors**

George W. Cutting, Jr. Mary D. Lindsay Anne R. Meier