Research Menu

WISE logo

 

 

Mission

CSHL WiSE is a network of scientists building a more supportive, collaborative, and equal scientific community for all. We provide a platform for professional development and empowerment through mentorship, career planning, and educational opportunities tailored toward issues disproportionally affecting women.

About WiSE

CSHL WiSE was founded in 2015 by students, postdocs and technicians looking to create a strong and collaborative support system for women scientists at CSHL and beyond. WiSE is open to all members of the CSHL community. CSHL WiSE is thankful for the ongoing support of the CSHL administration.

Making a Difference

Personal and Professional Development Workshops
WiSE hosts workshops that provide women with the tools to build self-confidence, learn professionalism and develop the drive to succeed.

McClintock Lectures

As part of the Thursday lab-wide scientific seminars, WiSE hosts prominent female scientist to present their research.

Outreach and Education

WiSE increases the number of young girls interested in and confident enough to pursue a career in science through our girls science summer camps in partnership with the DNA Learning Center.

Contact WiSE


Alexandra Nowlan
President
WSBS PhD student, Steven Shea Lab
Institutional Events
Email: anowlan@cshl.edu

Christine Scaduto
Vice President
Post-doc, Sheltzer Lab
WiSE Events
Email: cscaduto@cshl.edu

Shaina Lu
Secretary/Treasurer
WSBS PhD student, Zador & Gillis Labs
Email: slu@cshl.edu

Brianna Bibel
Social Media Chair
PhD student, Joshua-Tor Lab
Email: bbibel@cshl.edu
Dee Dee Rupert
Dee Dee Rupert
In-House Education Chair
SBU MD/PhD student, Steven Shea Lab
Email: drupert@cshl.edu
Cassidy Danyko
Cassidy Danyko
Outreach Co-Chair
Research Technician, Gingeras Lab
Email: cdanyko@cshl.edu

Lyndsey Aguirre
Outreach Co-Chair
WSBS PhD Student, Lippman Lab
Email: aguirre@cshl.edu
Tzvia Pinkhasov
Tzvia Pinkhasov
Mental Health Chair
SBU MD/PhD Student, Kepecs Lab
Email: tpinkhas@cshl.edu
Lital Chartarifsky
Lital Chartarifsky
President Emeritus & Co-Founder
WSBS PhD Student, Anne Churchland Lab
Email: lchartar@cshl.edu

Jackie Giovaniello
President Emeritus & Co-Founder
WSBS PhD Student, Bo Li Lab
Email: jgiovann@cshl.edu

Past Members


Alex Ambrico
Vice President & Co-Founder
Lab technician, Loyd Trotman Lab
Outreach and Education
Email: aambrico@cshl.edu

WiSE Executive Board