EVENTS Menu

Event Calendar

MonthWeekDay
May 2020
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sunday, April 26, 2020

10:00 am: Canceled Science Walking Tour, April 26 - DNA DAY

Monday, April 27, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Why Do Cells Have Different Shapes?

1:30 pm: DNALC Live: Species Shorts: Homo erectus

Tuesday, April 28, 2020

11:00 am: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Plant and Animal Cells

1:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNA Barcoding Part III: DNA Sequencing and Species Identification

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Live Biology Teacher’s Lounge

Wednesday, April 29, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Intro to the Mighty Mitochondria

1:30 pm: DNALC Live: Species Shorts: Homo antecessor

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: The True Cause of Sickle Cell Anemia

Thursday, April 30, 2020

11:00 am: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: The Dynamic Cell Membrane

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: Invertebrate Biology Series: Spiders, Part IV

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: AP Bio Chat - April 30

Friday, May 1, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: The Amazing Neuron! Part I

12:30 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: The Amazing Neuron and its Electrifying Action Potentials! Part II

1:30 pm: DNALC Live: Species Shorts: Homo heidelbergensis

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: Using a Single Nucleotide Polymorphism (SNP) to Predict Bitter Taste Ability, Part I

Saturday, May 2, 2020
Sunday, May 3, 2020 Monday, May 4, 2020

1:30 pm: DNALC Live: Species Shorts: Homo neanderthalensis

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: Virtual Museum Tour - Our Genome

4:00 pm: DNALC Live: Backyard Bugs: The Amazing Ants

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Short: Transcription and Translation

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: Using a Single Nucleotide Polymorphism (SNP) to Predict Bitter Taste Ability, Part II

Wednesday, May 6, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: DNA Packaging

1:30 pm: DNALC Live: Species Shorts: Homo sapiens

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: Meet the Scientist: Dr. Semir Beyaz, CSHL

Thursday, May 7, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: Invertebrate Biology Series: Coral Reefs, Part V

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: AP Bio Chat - May 7

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: Using a Single Nucleotide Polymorphism (SNP) to Predict Bitter Taste Ability, Part III

Friday, May 8, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: Intro to RNA-Seq with Jupyter, Part I

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Introduction to DNA Methylation

Saturday, May 9, 2020
Sunday, May 10, 2020

10:00 am: Canceled Science Walking Tour, May 10 - Mother's Day Tour

Monday, May 11, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Restriction Enzymes

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Green Fluorescent Protein

Tuesday, May 12, 2020

11:00 am: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Micropipetting

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Preparation of an Agarose Gel

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Gel Electrophoresis

Wednesday, May 13, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: CRISPR Introduction

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: PV92 - Jumping Genes Lead the Way

Thursday, May 14, 2020

11:00 am: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Imaging

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: Invertebrate Biology Series: Courtship and Reproduction, Part VI

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: AP Bio Chat - May 14

Friday, May 15, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: Intro to RNA-Seq with Jupyter, Part II

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: Forensic DNA Profiling, Part I

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Centrifugation

Saturday, May 16, 2020
Sunday, May 17, 2020

10:00 am: Canceled Science Walking Tour, May 17

Monday, May 18, 2020

1:00 pm: DNALC Live: Let's Give it a Whorl: Fingerprint Analysis

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: Ötzi the Iceman: Pollen Tells a Story

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: Forensic DNA Profiling, Part II

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

1:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Luminol - Illuminating Biological Evidence

Thursday, May 21, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: Why Soap Works: The Macromolecules of SARS-CoV-2

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: Forensic DNA Profiling, Part III

Friday, May 22, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: The Mystery of Anastasia

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Finger Painting with Fingerprints

Saturday, May 23, 2020
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Monday, May 25, 2020 Tuesday, May 26, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: New York Stories Episode 1, Martin Chalfie & GFP

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: Kitchen Science: Bubbling Liver

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: New York Stories Episode 2, DNA Fingerprinting

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: Lactose Intolerance

Thursday, May 28, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: Vertebrate Biology Part I: Reptiles and Amphibians

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: Industrial Enzymology

Friday, May 29, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: DNA Methyltransferases and DNA Methylation

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: Meet the Scientist: Kimberly Kudlack, MS, CGC, Genetic Counselor at Northwell Health

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: Webinar: Teaching Biotech from a Distance - DNA barcoding in a regulated environment

Saturday, May 30, 2020
Sunday, May 31, 2020 Monday, June 1, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: Backyard Bugs - Carpenter Bees

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: DNALC Short: New York Stories Episode 3, Exploring Mutant Organisms - The Fly Room

Wednesday, June 3, 2020

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: Humans, Chimps, and a Missing Chromosome

3:00 pm: DNALC Live: Barcode Long Island Symposium Keynote Address

Thursday, June 4, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: Detecting Genetically Modified Foods by PCR, Part I

4:30 pm: DNALC Live: Urban Barcode Symposium Keynote Address

Friday, June 5, 2020

12:00 pm: DNALC Live: New York Stories Episode 4, Restriction Enzyme Analysis

2:00 pm: DNALC Live: Detecting Genetically Modified Foods by PCR, Part II

Saturday, June 6, 2020

10:00 am: Canceled Science Walking Tour, June 6