Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Announces Harold M. Weintraub Awardees

2005 Watson School of Biological Sciences Graduate Among the Winners

2005 Watson School of Biological Sciences Graduate Zachary B. Lippman, 27 (photo available upon request), is among the 15 graduate students from the United States and Canada who have been chosen to receive this year’s Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award sponsored by the Basic Sciences Division of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

As a Beckman Graduate Student at the Watson School, Lippman studied how heterochromatin regulates gene activity in Arabadopsis thaliana under the supervision of his research advisor Dr. Rob Martienssen. He successfully defended his thesis entitled Transposons, heterochromatin, and epigenetic landscapes in Arabidopsis in December 2004.

“We are proud to count winners of this prestigious award among both of our first two graduating classes. First, Amy Caudy, Class of 2004, won in 2003 and now the equally-deserving, Zach Lippman, from the Class of 2005,” Lilian Clark Gann, Dean of the Watson School of Biological Sciences, said.

The recipients, who were all selected on the basis of the quality, originality and significance of their work, will participate in a scientific symposium May 6-7 at Fred Hutchinson. The award, established in 2000, honors the late Harold M. Weintraub, a founding member of Fred Hutchinson’s Basic Sciences Division, who in 1995 died from brain cancer at age 49.

Originally from Milford, CT, Zach currently lives in Commack, NY with his wife, Shira, and his daughters Nava, 2, and Adina, six weeks. He graduated magna cum laude from Cornell University in 2000 and will receive his Ph.D. from the Watson School of Biological Sciences at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory on April 17, 2005.

The Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, home of three Nobel laureates, is an independent, nonprofit research institution dedicated to the development and advancement of biomedical research to eliminate cancer and other potentially fatal diseases. For more information, visit

The Watson School of Biological Sciences was founded in 1999 as a doctoral degree-granting educational program of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. The curriculum guides the development of a small number of outstanding Ph.D. candidates into creative and independent scientists. Unlike traditional Ph.D. programs, in which candidates often spend six or more years to obtain a degree, the Watson School is structured to grant the Ph.D. degree after only four years of intensive study. For more information, visit